LBH009 Charleville Mall Public Library (beside St. Agatha's Hall), 1965
Charleville Mall Library was opened on 10 December 1900 and was Dublin’s first purpose-built public library. The library provided lending and reference services and a newspaper reading room. Patrick Hoey, formerly a library assistant at the Capel Street and Thomas Street branches, was appointed librarian. The library was extended to include a Reference Room and a Ladies’ Reading Room in 1908 following a £2,800 grant from the Carnegie Foundation. Charleville Mall library also housed the collection of Sir John Gilbert (4,500 volumes and 268 manuscripts) that had been purchased by Dublin Corporation in 1901.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin in the second half of the twentieth century.