054 St Matthew's Royal Chapel, Irishtown Road, 1976 [Church of Ireland]
St Matthew's was built in the early eighteenth century as part of a proselytising campaign by the Irish Parliament. The church was demolished in 1878-9 and rebuilt, leaving only the tower of the original church remaining. The church largely served Protestant sailors from the English packet boat and the fishermen of Ringsend village.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin from the second half of the twentieth century.