044 Church of the Immaculate Conception (Adam and Eve's), Merchant's Quay [Roman Catholic]
This church is probably most famous for its name and its mention in James Joyce's Finnegans Wake: 'riverrun, past Eve and Adam's, from swerve of shore to bend of bay, brings us by a commodious vicus of recirculation back to Howth Castle and Environs'. The origin of the name "Adam and Eve's" goes back to the days when the church was a penal chapel and the secret entrance was through a Cook Street tavern of the same name. There had originally been a pre-Reformation friary on the site. The church as it stands today was built in 1834.
This photo is from the Dublin City Council Photographic Collection. This unique collection is an educational resource and provides a basis for original research on the history of Dublin from the second half of the twentieth century.